Let me preface this by saying that I’m a math and statistics geek.

Any of you who have trouble with math, you may as well stop reading right now, because what I’m about to post will make little sense to you. That is not to say I’m trying to insult your intelligence or anything, but if somebody were to blog about comparing operas or ballets, I wouldn’t understand that either.

I was in a meeting earlier in the week, and we were reviewing a report that is used to try to drum up sales for our company. The whole concept of the report is to be able to say, okay, we’ll charge you $10,000 for our services, but we’ll save you $25,000 a year, and then provide tables to back up those figures.

The major table that backs up the figures shows the number of people who we can reach out to, the percentage of people whose behavior we can expect to change, the number of people whose behavior we can expect to change, and the amount of money that will be saved by changing those people’s behaviors.

So here’s the problem, the number of people whose behavior we can expect to change is rounded down to the nearest integer, and then that is multiplied by the savings per person to get the total savings.

So, if we reach out to 100 people, and can expect to change 1.9% of those people’s behavior, the savings shown is based upon 1 person changing their behavior and not 1.9 people (which, in statistics, is a concept known as the “expected value”). I ran the numbers for an entire report, and we’re basically underreporting how much money we can save them by 10%.

I created a nice little Excel workbook showing exactly how the underreporting was happening and how it would hurt our ability to sell our services.

Since then, I’ve been in a pretty long e-mail discussion with a guy who has a PhD in economics, and he just doesn’t seem to get this concept! But, unfortunately, he is a director and I am not, so if I can’t convince him with my last ditch attempt e-mail, I’m going to have to move on.